smashkrot.blogg.se

Oscar schmidt festival autoharp value
Oscar schmidt festival autoharp value













What is so troubling is how high a percentage of these have problems with the spruce top, especially with age and with new homes that have significantly different climatic environments. This connector is in the more favorable position. If I was going to buy one of this breed, I would rather have the original built in pickup than the add-on one with a different control and connector arrangement, although either one works fine. What should a preference over a luthier alternative be worth? The context though would be that I would still need a rowdier luthier instrument to play away from home. I don't have much hope of recovering half of that in resale, should I ever choose to sell it.not that I would.Īgain, depending on the application, certainly as a chromatic configuration, I would rather play the one I have like this one than any luthier chromatic out there. What I bought, in effect, was just a harp body, because it has since been restrung, has new chord bars, custom fine tuners, and a different case.easily worth over $1000. I drove a whole day to examine a $700 OS200 Festival model that turned out to be mint and fairly priced. I have never paid anything like that much without first seeing the thing in person.

#Oscar schmidt festival autoharp value professional#

This thing is a professional grade instrument like the "vintage Martin guitar".Īs always the question is, in how nice a condition is it? One can take some chances at a fortuitous price, but $810 is another matter completely. To be grabbed and converted into just another GD to be played with dulcimers would be a shame. These things typically provide the fattest tone on a Bb note and are going to favor F. Karen's (Mueller) is GD, but I don't recommend that tuning. Now, if someone were visiting from the UK or elsewhere, acquiring this instrument at this price might make a lot of sense. Thus the luthier instrument can be the much better investment, the one having some resale value anywhere near your investment, the one with some demand when you put it up for sale. The problem is that most people cannot imagine any Oscar Schmidt being worth this much, especially when notorious for top problems. It is more valuable to me than most luthier offerings, so it can be a relatively good deal. In real value, I personally wouldn't balk if I needed another instrument. It has to be something someone wants to play rather than trade. Since it still needs hundreds of dollars worth of refurbishing and enhancement, primarily fine tuners, possibly diatonic conversion, I don't see anyone ever recovering their investment. The price is already well above what I have ever seen or heard of anyone paying for one of these. I suggest just playing them and not worrying about cracks, until something comes apart, the frame bows too much, or the thing won't hold tuning. All sound fine and can be ruined in tone if gluing in braces. That is more critical when in "diatonic" tuning and doubled strings need to be synchronized (with very little tolerance).Īlthough my OS10021E is not one of them, some of my US vintage 'harps with solid tops have splits of one degree or another at the 3 o'clock position of the soundhole. However, it is THE number one choice when playing alone. It is too civilized and gets drowned out. I don't favor it when there are other instruments wailing away around me.

oscar schmidt festival autoharp value

I have one and wouldn't take $810 for it, but mine has custom fine tuners, new strings, etc. Hers has a built in electric pickup, and I know those as relatively rare.

oscar schmidt festival autoharp value

This instrument is identical to what Karen Mueller plays. With only three bidders in a few days, the price is already $810. Many of the solid tops didn't fare well, so that would put a red flag on any of these, definitely an important inquiry before any thought of bidding. It was certainly the one to own at that time. The rig would have sold new for about $350 in 1979. I have owned one in mahogany, so there is some variation.

oscar schmidt festival autoharp value

The Centurion has a solid spruce top and usually light ash for back, sides, and frame. This a US vintage Centurion Electric circa 1979-1983. EBay item 300236539866 OSCAR SCHMIDT CENTURION OS100 21 E AUTOHARP 21 CHORD













Oscar schmidt festival autoharp value